A Wonderful Spanish Idiom/Una Familia Muy Agradable

This radiant child is the youngest member of my family, the daughter of my nephew and his wife. I chose this photo for today’s post about the expression “dar a luz” not only because she is precious but also because among the many meanings associated with her name, Claire, is “giver of light.”
Para ilustrar la expresión “dar a luz” escogí esta foto del miembro más joven de mi familia. Esta niña muy preciosa es la hija de mi sobrino y su esposa. Su nombre es Claire, que significa “luz” y “claro.”

If you’ve been reading these posts and paying attention, you of course remember the discussion of “Eramos pocos y parió la abuela” (We were few, and the grandmother gave birth) as a Spanish equivalent for Murphy’s Law. According to what I’ve read, however, in many Latin American countries the verb “parir” (to give birth) is used only for animals. The preferred term is “dar a luz,” a lovely expression that translates literally as “to give to the light.” Not only is there pure poetry in the phrase, it also connotes the idea (and ideal) that parents give light—love, instruction, etc.—to the child. And of course, there’s the sentiment that when a mother brings a child into the light, the child also lights up the parents’ lives.

Now compare “dar a luz” with the English equivalents “to give birth” and “to deliver.” Think how confusing the latter could be for an English learner. “She just delivered a baby.” Is the woman a FedEx driver? Potentially even more perplexing is the expression most commonly used in the U.S.—“to have” a baby. Does “my sister had a baby” indicate that she doesn’t have the baby now? Does “she’s having a baby” mean the woman recently became pregnant or is currently in labor? Don’t even get me started on Paul Anka’s annoying and inane pop hit “(You’re) Having My Baby.” In the music video in my head, he’s crooning in the delivery room while his “woman” screams “Get the @#!!# outta here!”

Muchas veces olvido una palabra casi tan pronto como la aprendo. Pero la expresión “dar a luz” es inolvidable para mi no sólo porque es una expresión muy hermosa sino porque también la asocio con mi experiencia en Costa Rica y una familia amable y atenta.

Cuando fui a Costa Rica para asistir a una escuela de idioma en San José, había estudiado español por solo un año. No tenía la confianza y apenas podía decir dos frases seguidas. Mi familia anfitriona era la familia Calderón. Tengo que confesar que no era un huésped fácil. Extrañaba mucho a mi esposo y mi hogar. Estaba frustrada porque no podía expresarme bien. Además, tenía problemas acostumbrándome a la comida, las costumbres, y el ritmo de la vida cotidiana. Pero mi familia costarricense mostró una paciencia inagotable con la gringa muda en el sofá. Esto, a pesar de que durante mi visita, una hija de la familia estaba a punto de dar a luz y necesitaba reposo absoluto. Y a pesar de su ansiedad y su preocupación por la salud de la madre y el bebé, mis anfitriones me continuaron tratándome como si fuera un miembro de la familia. Gracias a Dios, la madre dio a luz a un niño saludable. Hoy Emanuel tiene dos años y tiene su propia cuenta en Facebook. Y gracias a la familia Calderón, tengo buenos recuerdos de mi viaje a Costa Rica y la bondad de los costarricenses.

One response to “A Wonderful Spanish Idiom/Una Familia Muy Agradable

  1. Mary, muchas gracias por compartir en tu blog esta experiencia tan linda. Nos encantó tenerte en nuestra familia y siempre te recordamos con mucho cariño. No fuiste una huésped difícil, para nada. Más bien te agradecemos tu comprensión en ese momento porque el bebé nació muy pequeño. Ojalá nos recuerdes también y puedas venir con toda tu familia de nuevo. Siempre serás bienvenida en mi casa. Y te felicito por tu español. Gracias Susy

Whadya think? ¿Qué pienses?

