Mountain Climbing/Montañismo

The original tagline for this blog was “The trials and tribulations of learning a new language (and other things) at an advanced age.” I deleted the first part because I decided it might be better to focus on the process rather than the pain. Still, I have to admit that learning Spanish as a middle-aged adult is a constant struggle to retain information. For example, whenever a teacher or another student asks me if I’ve learned the imperfect subjunctive verb tense, I usually reply, “Yep, I’ve learned all the tenses, five or six times at least.” It’s not a joke. It’s the truth. On any given day, I am capable of forgetting how to conjugate a simple verb such as “hablar” in the present indicative.

Last year when I was visiting The Kid in Peru, I accompanied her to the office of a contractor, where I met an American about my age who spoke several languages. He informed me that it was too late to learn a language and that I would never speak Spanish fluently. I was a little put out by his comment, but I realize he was probably right. I’ve also come to the conclusion that it doesn’t matter. As long as I can communicate and people get the gist of what I want to say, I’ll be happy.

For more than 30 years, I’ve lived in Colorado, which has more “fourteeners”—peaks of 14,000 feet or higher—than any other state in the U.S. I like to hike in the mountains, and sure, it’s a great feeling when you reach the top, but I’m at an age where that’s getting harder and becoming less important. My efforts to learn Spanish are like climbing a fourteener every day. It’s a challenge and I may never summit, but I’m enjoying the view all the same.

El lema original de este blog fue “Las tribulaciones de aprender un nuevo idioma (y otras cosas) a una edad avanzada.” Eliminé la primera parte porque decidí sería mejor centrarme en el proceso y no el dolor. No obstante, tengo que confesar que el aprendizaje del español como un adulto de mediana edad es una lucha constante para conservar la información. Por ejemplo, cuando un maestro u otro estudiante me pregunta si he aprendido el imperfecto de subjuntivo, por lo general le contesté: “Sí, he aprendido los tiempos verbales, cinco o seis veces por lo menos.” No es una broma. Es la verdad. En un día cualquiera, soy capaz de olvidar cómo conjugar un verbo sencillo como “hablar” en presente de indicativo.

El año pasado, cuando fui a visitar a La Flaquita en el Perú, la acompañé a la oficina de un contratista, donde conocí a un americano de mi edad, que hablaba varios idiomas con fluidez. Me informó que era demasiado tarde para aprender un idioma y que yo nunca volvería a hablar español con fluidez. Yo estaba un poco molesto por el comentario, pero me di cuenta de que probablemente el señor tenía razón. También concluí de que hablar con fluidez no importa siempre que pueda comunicar con la gente.

Hace muchos años que vivo en Colorado, un estado que tiene más “fourteeners” (cimas de 14,000 pies o más) que los otros estados. Me gusta ir de excursión en las montañas, y claro, es una gran sensación cuando llego a la cima. Pero como envejezco, alcanzar al cima me cuesta mucho y no es tan importante.

Mis esfuerzos para aprender español son como si fuera hacer montañismo todos los días. Es una desafío y jamás alcanzo al cima, pero estoy disfrutando de la vista de todos modos.

On our hike last weekend, JB wasn’t expecting snowfields and was wearing his Tevas.
En nuestra excursión en las montañas el fin de semana pasado, El Marido llevó sandalias (no esperaba nieve).

Whadya think? ¿Qué pienses?

